8-year Update: Don’t Let TSW Prevent You From Achieving Your Goals

Don’t let TSW stop you from pursuing your dreams! Brian is 8 years TSW, and he officially signed his National Letter of Intent (NLI) to play college baseball for VCU as a pitcher.

Brian started TSW as a baseball-loving 10-yr-old on October 6, 2013. Despite long-lasting TSW effects and eczema issues over the years, his hard work, positive attitude, and perseverance (along with LOTS of prayer) enabled him to excel academically and athletically. We’re so proud of the young man he’s become and look forward to what the future holds. Go Rams!!!

Let go of bitterness; let go of anger; let God use your difficult circumstances to make a positive difference in your life and the life of others.

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9 (ESV)

2 thoughts on “8-year Update: Don’t Let TSW Prevent You From Achieving Your Goals

  1. Congratulations to both mom and son! It has been a joy to journey along with your family and celebrate with each of Brian’s milestones. My son, Langston, also is surviving TSW. You two literally saved his life and I could never probably fully express my gratitude, but I have an idea you understand. Langston’s skin spiraled completely out of control about 7 years ago. He was just 4 years old! (Just lost my breath reliving the horror) But GOD……………as I became a zombie and a shell of wife, and mother to my other son…I frantically searched the internet for answers looking for something to help me help my child because the doctors were not listening and we were literally at a doctors office every 2 weeks at times. But GOD………one night I stumbled upon your blog and I saw little Brian’s pictures and I said this is Langston. I followed everything you did, starting with stopping topical steroids and I stopped going to the dr concerning his skin altogether. It was a long, hard road. My husband and mother in law thought I completely lost my mind. But slowly and surely, Langston started to heal. And today he is a thriving honors student in middle school, playing basketball and living his best life! Amen! His skin is beautiful. Its not perfect, he still has excema, but he knows how to manage it and how to be patient in the midst of a flare because “This too shall pass”. We wouldn’t be where we are today had you not decided to journal your experience. Thank you for that. I know it took dedication, time and so much more! You blessed my family with your attention to this blog. I have followed you guys for 7 years because I still receive your emails, and when I opened your update today I said to myself, it’s about time I said “thank you”. I will always open an update and smile at the latest growth Brian has encountered and express my silent “Thank God”., I am very happy he is happy.

    • Dear Grace,
      I am soooo happy for you and your son Langston! Congratulations to him for overcoming TSW trauma! He is blessed to have had you as an advocate and caregiver. It is so very hard not knowing what advice to follow, especially when others oppose and when the recovery process is terribly slow, up and down, and often seems like it’s not worth it. I had some great TSW mamas who helped me and my hubby along our journey with Brian. Brian’s skin is not perfect, either, but like Langston he knows how to manage it.

      Thank you sooo much for your kind words! It means a lot.
      May you, Langston, and your family have a very blessed Christmas and continued good health and healing into the New Year! Rosemarie

Leave a comment